
![]()
Music Databases and Indexes
IIMP -- provides abstracts for
355 music journals and full text for 40 of those titles.
JSTOR - provides full text of older issues of many music titles
Music in Print Online - most comprehensive listing of music currently in print
Music
Index Online -- citations only for more than 655 music journals and
magazines.
New Grove II Online -- online version of the print resource, includes New Grove Dictionary of Opera and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
RILM Abstracts - Covers music scholarship from 1967 to the present.
Indexes and Databases
Related to Music Research
America: History and Life -- includes
abstracts on articles related to music in American history and culture.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index --
find citations to interdisciplinary humanities topics here.
Biography Index -- provides
information on locating articles about the lives of composers, performers, and other
musicians.
ERIC -- provides abstracts for articles and
books in education and is useful for Music Education students.
Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors
-- now within the ERIC database
Essay and General Literature
Index -- indexes chapters in books that are collections of essays or papers.
Historic New York Times - contains full images from 1851-2001 (performance reviews, obituaries)
Humanities Abstracts Fulltext -- find
abstracts and some full text on interdisciplinary humanities topics here.
General Indexes and
Databases
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Book Review Digest
Britannica Online -- online version of
the encyclopedia also has a dictionary and links to websites.
Carl UnCover
Dow Jones Interactive -- includes
surprising number of music journals.
Expanded Academic Index -- spans multiple subjects; best resource for full text articles
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe -- news resources, law
Periodical Contents Index (PCI)
Readers Guide Abstracts
WorldCat -- huge database of books,
scores, recordings, etc. that can be used to identify resources not availalable at Furman.
See the list of all databases for others not
found here.